Healthy Gumbo

yumIf you need a quick mini-meal that’s filling and good for you, you’ve found it. This was so delicious and satisfying, and has lots of protein, complex carbs, fiber – and even iron.

Ingredients:

3 ounces of cooked shrimp (rinse well before cooking to remove excess sodium).

1/3 cup of drained, cooked, no sodium fava beas (organic and bpa-free canned were my choice).

1/3 cup organic, sprouted, cooked quinoa (I used Tru Roots).

A few tablespoons of cooked onion and a little minced garlic cooked in EVOO (I get the jar).

A 1/2 tablespoon or even less of organic coconut oil.

Spices you love (I used garlic powder, salt, pepper, greek seasoning, and the extra spicy Mrs. Dash.)

Directions:

I cook everything with EVOO and garlic and onion, it’s just the way I like it, but for the shrimp this time I did a little coconut oil. I buy the organic, 365 brand from Whole Foods and just use a little.

Saute the shrimp until they start to curl and turn pink, turning once.

Cook the quinoa according to instructions on the bag.

Cook the beans in the microwave for a couple of minutes.

Combine all ingredients and enjoy!

