Gluten-free pasta with mushroom/ground turkey marinara and broccoli ‘meatballs’.

 

995532_503676179727522_728107027_n 

This is so easy to make, and filling! To cut back on carbs I used a jar of mushrooms, some lightly-steamed broccoli and a can of diced tomatoes to really bulk up the volume – but lower the overall caloric intake. It was delicious!

  1. I sauteed some onion and minced garlic (from the jar) in a little canola oil. Normally I’d use EVOO, but I found out that at med/high temps it actually becomes carcinogenic. Once the onions were almost translucent, I added a little ground turkey and cooked until no more pink remained, and added it to the sauce. (I do everything all at once with like 3 burners going, so it’s hard to explain one step at a time).
  2. Next, I cooked the pasta according to directions – any kind you prefer, but I like the gluten-free spirals sometimes. I salted the water with Pink Himalayan sea salt. Stirred occasionally to prevent sticking, but the glass pots work perfectly most of the time. Drain.
  3. I had some lightly-steamed broccoli on hand already, but surely you know how to steam veggies. These will come into play later.  ; )
  4. Then I used a jar of organic pasta/marinara sauce and filled it up with herbs and spices like oregano, basil, thyme, parsley, pepper, and garlic salt.
  5. I then added the meat and a small jar of mushrooms and a can of diced tomatoes to the sauce, and simmered for around 10 mins stirring occasionally. Turn heat down low, and NOW you can add the EVOO to help you absorb the lycopene and antioxidants better.
  6. I literally just used a cup of pasta, but with the broccoli and 1/2 cup of chunky sauce I filled up my entire plate. I used the broccoli like you would meatballs, on top of the pasta, then covered everything in sauce.

This took me at most 25 mins to prepare.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

